Virginia & Washington DC Affiliate

The Virginia & Washington DC Community is proud to host the Award for Aspirations in Computing in Virginia & Washington DC. Award recipients will be selected for their aptitude and interest in IT and computing, solid leadership ability, good academic history, and plans for post-secondary education.

We encourage women in grades 9-12 to apply.

The VA/DC Celebration of NCWIT Aspiration Winners will be held on Saturday, March 15 2014 at Virginia Commonwealth University starting at 11:15. The Awards presentation will occur at 1:30. The address is:
Engineering West Hall Lobby
601 West Main Street
Richmond, VA

Please contact aspirations@ncwit.org with any questions about the Virginia & Washington DC community.

Chair:

Mary Lou Soffa
University of Virginia
soffa@virginia.edu

Committee Members:

Libby G. Bradford
Virginia Tech
bradford@vt.edu

Jim Cohoon
University of Virginia
cohoon@virginia.edu

Felicia Doswell
Norfolk State University
fdoswell@nsu.edu

Nancy Lea Harris
James Madison University
harrisnl@jmu.edu

Giti Javidi
Virginia State University
gjavidi@vsu.edu

Barbara Ryder
Virginia Tech
ryder@cs.vt.edu

Kamaljeet Sanghera
George Mason University
ksangher@gmu.edu

Kelly Shaw
University of Richmond
kshaw@richmond.edu

Opportunities

  • Recipients of the NCWIT National or Virginia/DC Affiliate Award for Aspirations in Computing will receive a $1,000 scholarship if they choose to major in Computer Science at Virginia Tech.

    In order to be eligible for this scholarship, applicants must enroll at Virginia Tech and declare a CS major within a year of enrolling at VT. This scholarship will be available for students in their sophomore year and is renewable for up to three years. 

     

    Audience: 
    High Schooler
More opportunities

Virginia & Washington DC Affiliate Blog Posts

See all