The Indiana Community was proud to host the 2014 Award for Aspirations in Computing on Thursday, January 30th in the One America Building Auditorium in Downtown Indianapolis. Award recipients were selected for their aptitude and interest in IT and computing, solid leadership ability, good academic history, and plans for post-secondary education.

Below is the agenda for the evening's activities:

6:00 PM Welcome, Maureen Biggers, Chair, IN Aspirations Committee

6:05 PM Opening Remarks, Michele Steele, AVP, eBusiness, OneAmerica

6:15 PM Dinner, 6:45 PM Keynote Introduction, Lamara Warren, Member, IN Aspirations Committee

6:48 PM Keynote Speaker, Ruthe Farmer, Director, NCWIT Strategic Initiatives

7:05 PM Award Introductions, Jenny Hertel, Program Chair, IN Aspirations Selection Committee

7:08 PM Award Presentations, Tiffany Trusty, Dawn Laux, and Lamara Warren, IN Aspirations Selection Committee

7:35 PM Educator Award Presentation, Mindy Johns, 2013 Educator Winner

7:45 PM Closing Remarks, Gail Farnsley, Member, IN Aspirations Committee

7:50 PM Group photo and Evaluations

Please contact with any questions about the Indiana community.


  • $1,000 for Aspirations Award winners that enroll at Rose-Hulman.  In addition, qualified students that apply for and receive an Anita Borg scholarship will receive a matching scholarship.

    High Schooler
    Women in College
  • Two $500 scholarships are available for Indiana Aspiration Award winners that enroll at Notre Dame and study Computer Science.

    High Schooler
  • Purdue University offers a $500 scholarship for Aspirations Award winners that choose to enroll in CS or CIT majors.

    High Schooler
More opportunities

Indiana Blog Posts

See all